Tiramisu and the internet

I am starting to realize that everything I have clipped out, at least as far as recipes go, has been on the Internet the whole time and is searchable.  I have been living in the dark ages with my little binders.

Oh well.

At least having the clippings makes me remember I wanted to try something new and is a great way to get my juices flowing.  And this one is one that I picked out when I was feeling romantic back in June, 2005.  Right before my first son was born, I clipped this out, when I had visions of cooking something cool and creamy for my hubby.  Tiramisu is his favorite dessert and I was in love with love, ready to take on motherhood and all domestic bliss.  Nearly 6 years later, I have never made it.  Not once.  Better get cooking!

Serves 8| Hands-On Time: 15m | Total Time: 2hr 15m

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup espresso
  • 1 tablespoon dark rum
  • 14 ladyfingers (about 4 ounces)
  • 2 pints vanilla ice cream

Directions

  1. Dissolve the sugar in the espresso, add the rum, and chill. Dip the ladyfingers, one at a time, into the espresso and arrange them snugly in the bottom of an 8-by-8-inch baking pan, trimming if necessary.
  2. Scoop the ice cream into the bowl of an electric mixer and beat with a paddle attachment until it’s soft but still holds its shape, about 2 minutes. Spread over the ladyfingers to form a smooth surface. Freeze until firm, about 2 hours or overnight (if overnight, wrap in plastic to prevent freezer burn).
  3. Let soften slightly before scooping into bowls to serve.

By Sara Quessenberry,  June 2005

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tiramisu and the internet

  1. Pingback: Maps, spinach and tiramasu | I'm The Boss of Me

Leave a Reply

