“Brothers” photo contest

The Pioneer Woman (a.k.a. PW or P-Dub)  holds photo contests at random intervals.  There have been many cool themes including funny (don’t click here unless you are prepared to spend the next hour at work/home going through these pictures and laughing you a** off), horses and beauty

The brothers contest runs through tomorrow.  Since I am the mother of 3 brothers, I thought I would toss my hat in the ring with a pair of my favorite shots of O, M & B. 

There are already 188,187 entries to date on Flickr and I have seen the first batch of finalists.  They are AMAZING.  Several of these photos had me in tears last night.  If you have a brother or parent a boy who is a brother, these are worth checking out.  Here are a few of my favorites.

Brother from a different mother

Don’t mess with them

Robots

More than a teammate…a brother

In other news…

Tuesday’s focus is friendships, so it is only appropriate that I spent last evening with some lovely ladies.  I had my final Junior League board meeting at Riverside House, our headquarters. 

I have been a member of the league since 2000.  I have made some of my best friends through the league.  Come to think of it, all of my best friends in Jacksonville have at one time or another been connected to my participation in the Junior League. 

At the meeting, our President gave everyone a box of lovely flowers in thanks for our year of board service.  We chatted more than usual and enjoyed a bit of wine (despite historic enjoyment of greater proportions.) 

On May 10, 2011, I will transition from Active status to Sustainer. It is bittersweet – I love being in the League, but it is time. I am going to miss the banter with the likes of Nicole and Meg and Kim and Becky and Patricia and the other wonderful women who devote their time and talent to this worthy and historically significant organization.  

And I will miss the wine too.  🙂

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

