Decorating with Maps

Catalogs are great for inspiration (or at least for a good laugh.  Check out Catalog Living).  I have reduced the number of catalogs we get at Chez Boss Lady, but back in the day, I used to tear stuff out of Pottery Barn and Crate and Barrel catalogs with gusto.  I stopped right about the time we brought O home and we received a copy of Land of Nod’s catalog in the mail.  That catalog was going to be trouble!

I love maps.  My parents always had a map in the house where they pinpointed the places they had visited.  (It was in the master bathroom of all places – I guess they had time to reflect on their travels while in there?) 

This map idea came from Restoration Hardware  catalog years ago and have been looking for a chance to make it ever since. 

It looks so easy – a map, nine matching frames and voila!  You have art!  

Just this morning, one of my favorite bloggers (The Nesting Place) was writing about map art as I was pulling the clipping out to do the same.  Apparently, we are not the only ones.  A Soft Place to Land, a new blog I may have to add to the 72 other blogs I read, did a blog search of people using maps in their decor.  Check it out.  My favorite idea is the map mobile (can you tell I have got baby on the brain?)

ready and waiting

Well darn.

I lost my train of thought.  HH just called.

We’ve been robbed.

They got the TV, the BluRay.  Not sure what else.  The police are on the way.  If there are typos, so be it.  I gotta go.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

