Gooooooo, Super Protector Mommy!

HH built these for me this past March.I heart them. 

However, March is hop, skip and a jump to June, after which they sat unused in the sweltering, Florida heat.

It was just too hot to enjoy these lovingly built tokens of affection.

Now that we have had two days in a row where you can be outside without your skin melting off, I began to envision sitting out on the patio with a cold beverage and my feet propped up in these bad boys again.

But in the few months since they were brand-spanking new, the wood was already dried out and faded a good bit.  I was kinda shocked – so much so that I forgot to take a before photo – by how much can happen in such a small amount of time.  (Don’t even get me started on my new attitude on sunscreen!)

Rather than crack open that adult beverage, I retrieved a paint brush and some latex gloves, and cracked open some Polyurethane.  No time like the present  6 months later, right? 

As the smell of chemicals wafted through the air, three curious little people came out to see what Mom was up to.  I told them that mommy was protecting the chair.

“Protecting, huh?” says Turtle.

“Like a super hero protects things?” says Splash

“Well, sort of.  Daddy made these for Mommy and Mommy loves them.  I want to protect them for a long time.”

“So you are working to protect them?” says Turtle.

“Yes.  Yes, I am a working protector, ” say I. 

Who am I to argue with that kind of logic.  I mean it is not every day you forgo an adult beverage after work to take on the “protection” of something.

I realized after the first coat went on that I could not sit in the chairs for 24 hours, but it will be worth it.  A 24 hour investment that means I will still have chairs this time next years is a no brainer.

Plus, I had good company around – the Mommy protection cheering squad.

My home team was rooting me on and practicing their Mommy cheer.

Hands in!

Go Mommy, on three!

One, two, three!

Life is good as a Super Protector. 

Have a great weekend, y’all.

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

