What do you want to do?

I have been wrestling with this very question a lot these days.  There are so many things I want to be and do and learn and try.

In no particular order…

I want to learn upholstery.

I want to go back to school.  Maybe get a PhD.  Maybe get an Associate degree.  I want to study history and organizational leadership and wood working.

I want to (finally) learn how to cook…well.

I want to help change the way we educate kids today.

I want to educate kids today.

I want to write a book.

I want to speak Spanish fluently.

I want to finish that headboard in the garage and take the embroidery machine I bought last year out of the box…and use it.

I want to take really great digital photos.

I want to sew.

I want to write a complete e-mail or essay or blog entry without rereading it 100 times to find the word I missed that makes it grammatically incorrect after I turn it in or send it out.

I want to grow my own food and teach others how to do the same.

I want to learn how to can.

I want to tear out my master shower and the linen closet in the hall on the 2nd floor and install a giant tub with a glass enclosure and then tile it – by myself.

I want to write a good book.

I want to have my own business.

I want to take my boys on the same road trip my parents took me on every summer, picking a highway and driving it for a month, stopping at historic places along the way.

How does one cram this kind of stuff into a life already full of other wonderful things I wanted to do and am doing?

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in My life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do you want to do?

  1. Kristen says:

    We have the same mindset. I’ve started “calendaring” the ideas that I have and then pushing myself (and the family) to make them happen. The larger/longer term projects (continued education, house demolishing, etc) are in a large scale calendar that I look at once a month to see if a “light at the end of the tunnel” approach will help me implement those. So far, writing them down and focusing on them has started to make them happen. The continued education goal though is just *that* far out of reach.

Leave a Reply

