Turn left.

Remember this post?  Well,  I did not know how quickly I would go from paralysis by analysis to hyper-drive.

But I did just that.

Last week, I entered a business start-up competition called iStart Jax.  At 6:00 pm, I and 58 other people with an idea for a new business had 60 seconds to sell it as the best, new, most-awesomest, coolest business idea ever.

After voting (all 150 people got to vote for their favs), the top 17 ideas were chosen and I was one of them.

At that point, the room went into total pandemonium as people, many of whose ideas had not been selected, had to decide which of the 17 teams they wanted to join or in my case, who I wanted to join my team.

Thank goodness I had friends there, because I did not have any inkling about what I needed to make my idea, a new website, become a reality.

Web developers or programmers?

Is there a difference?

Did I want Java, or Sequel, or C++, or R.O.R. or Drupal?

Graphic artists or designers?

I ended up with 6.5 terrific teammates, who stuck it out for the weekend. (My half teammate was a friend Bert, who came and went from the event a few times – in order to hang out with his lovely family.  He was a wonderful help while we had him.)

On Sunday, with the plan “done” and a prototype built, I pitched to the whole room again.  This time, I had a whopping four minutes and a panel of 5 venture capitals firms/entrepreneurs/”people who know stuff” on hand to decide if my idea was worth a darn.

And…long story short…

I won.

I will write more about what happened, as much for me as for you, because it is still a little hard to believe.

But in the interim, I will direct you here.

I am on the front page of today’s the January 27, 2012 Jacksonville Business Journal. (The photo is awful.  I forgot about this bit of advice I shared on the blog last year.)

And with that, I pivot to the left and head down the new path.

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in My life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turn left.

  1. Ellen says:

    I am so proud of you. What an adventure, and this is just the beginning! I wish you all the best of luck.

    “Sequel” is SQL, stands for Structured Query Language, used in databases. I don’t know why they make a pronounceable word out of an unpronounceable acronym.

  2. Ondine says:

    This is so, so exciting Jennifer! I can’t read the entire article since you need a subscription, so I look forward to hearing more about your idea and progress via the blog. Woohoo! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

