“How Starbucks Saved My Life” by Gill – Save your time and read something else.

How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone ElseHow Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else by Michael Gates Gill
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Lately, I have not had much time to read for fun. At my most recent Toastmaster’s meeting (which are held at a public library), I saw this on the shelf and picked it up so I could have something to “read” while I was driving around.

As memoirs go, this one does not offer much more in the 3rd, 8th or 10th chapter than it gave out in the first chapter. A man with charmed life is knocked down.  He gets a job at Starbucks and this job picks him up and gives him a whole new appreciation for how the rest of us live.   (Actually, the book jacket and title give you that.  Now that I think about it, the first chapter is redundant too.)

I kept reading though, not because the writing was any good, but because this 7 CD audio book was a fascinating look into the Starbucks retail corporate culture.

I would not put this on any one’s must read list, unless you are interested in knowing more about the coffee power-house’s policies, training program and store operations. Then…and only then, is it worth a read.

View all my reviews

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

