A Mother’s Day stroll with Splash

Splash and I took a walk today, just the two of us.  This is rare for a few reasons, not the least of which is that HH and I have kids who hate to be left out of any activity with either of us.  For some reason, Vader and Turtle did not put up too much fuss today.

In addition, it was not my idea.  Splash asked me if we could go.   And since my entrepreneurial team took the night off, I was home on a Sunday and I was able to join him.

We walked down to the end of our street, turned right and leisurely strolled a few blocks.  And along the way, I had the chance to get to know my littlest baby (younger by only 1 minute behind Turtle) a little bit better.

I asked Splash about what he wanted to be when he grew up.  He noticed some litter along the side of the road and decided he would be a trash collector.  (Not that we live in a trashy neighborhood, but we saw a few cigarette butts and bottle caps on our tour. He vacillated between chastising the litterbugs and getting really excited to show me what stuff was on the ground.) The alternative career path for Splash was Spiderman, which he added just as we passed a wicked awesome spider web with all kinds of cool stuff in it.

I learned that Splash wants to have 10 kids – 5 boys and 5 girls.

I learned that the boys will be named AJ and Christopher (which are names of kiddos in our extended family) and he will have a Splash Jr.  In fact, he thought for a second about all of them being Splash Jrs. (Great…my kid would have the family where everyone says, “You know, he names his kids like George Foreman did!”)  All of the girls will be named Christina.  (This one is puzzling.  I don’t know that we know another kid named Christina.)

I learned that Splash wants a big house, but he will only have 5 beds for his 10 kids.  (He thought it would be fun to have all of the kids share a bed with a sibling, but when I asked him if he would share a bed with one of his brothers, he said, “No way.”)

The best discovery was on the way back.   When I asked Splash how he was going to earn a living to support his large family or if he was going to be a stay-at-home dad, he said he was going to do both.  “In fact, I will just be a mom.”

Atta boy.

Thanks for reading.

Jennifer

PS – For the record, HH does in fact do both.  AND he knocked the ball out of the park on Mother’s Day.  I slept in until 9:00 am, took a nap at 4:00 pm AND got new goodies for the yard.  There is homemade salsa in my future!  Thanks, honey!

Leave a Reply

