Conquistadora by Esmeralda Santiago

ConquistadoraConquistadora by Esmeralda Santiago

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book is a solid “good.” The story is of a Spanish woman who is ahead of her time, seeking freedom and independence before women were able to choose their own destinies. Conquistadora does a great job if vividly describing life in rural, untamed Puerto Rico and gives us a guided tour of the history of this part of the world that I enjoyed. You learn a ton about the sugar industry and the Spanish empire. I loved the America history that is woven into the story as well. However, I got a little bored with the whiney nature of the lead character and the rapid fire of events at the end that seemed to show the author’s own realization that the book was way too front heavy.With a little more balance, this would have been a “great” book for me. For now, I am both glad I read it and glad I am finished reading it.

View all my reviews

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

