My morning.

Like so many people across this country, I am stunned and saddened by the shooting in Newtown, CT.  Like many mothers and fathers, I clung a to my little ones when I saw them Friday afternoon, reluctant to let go, squeezing them unit they squirmed free.  I felt eternally thankful to have the opportunity to be able to smell them, hold them and love them, when other mothers and fathers were dealing with an unimaginable new reality in their lives.

Winter break started for my three boys today. For most of this holiday vacation from school, I have arranged a smorgasbord-esque schedule of babysitters, winter camps and play dates to cover the boys while HH and I are at work. But today, I am sitting in a patio chair, taking in a little Florida sun, and enjoying a rare bit of vacation time on the first day of the break.  I am supervising a pack of 7 neighborhood boys between the ages of 4 and 9, who are treating the lawns of all of the houses like one giant obstacle course; some are racing bikes, others are throwing balls, all are playing Star Wars at some point…and doing other things boys do.

For a little while today, I am simply a mom.

I am the one fetching the drinks.

I am the one double-knotting shoelaces.

I am the one breaking up a quarrel.

And I would not have it any other way.

RIP, Sandy Hook students, teachers and staff.  May you be all be reveling in the joys of heaven.  Even those of us who did not know you are missing you terribly here on Earth.

~Jennifer

Leave a Reply

