Let the planning commence.

For the past 3 years, I have been saying that at some point, I want to travel for an extended period of time with my husband and three sons.  A few months ago, I created a Pinterest Board.  When we took our 10 day summer vacation earlier this month, I mentally logged how the boys did in a variety of situations.

The daydream grew some legs today.  I took the first crack at planning the darn thing.

And this is what the 8 to 9 week trip looks like in its first draft.

  1. Jamestown, VA
  2. Washington D.C.
  3. New York, New York
  4. Boston, MA
  5. TBD, Maine
  6. Vernon, CT
  7. Philadelphia, PA
  8. Cincinnati, OH
  9. Chicago, IL
  10. Badlands National Park
  11. Mt. Rushmore National Memorial
  12. Yellowstone
  13. Seattle, WA
  14. Portland, OR
  15. Redwoods
  16. Pacific Coast highway
  17. San Francisco, CA
  18. Yosemite National Park
  19. Las Vegas, NV
  20. Albuquerque, NM
  21. Carlsbad Caverns, NM
  22. Dallas, TX
  23. Austin, TX
  24. New Orleans, LA
  25. Destin, FL
  26. Jacksonville, FL

I have nothing else for now.  I have no budget.  I have no idea which of these drives is a half day/ whole day/multi-day.  I am not sure if we’d rent or buy an RV, if we stay at camp sites or in hotels, or a combination of both.  I am not sure if there will be other cities added (Denver, Salt Lake and Los Angeles are the glaring ones I see missing at first blush.) I’d like to think we’d visit friends and family, but I am not sure who we’d see or where these folks will even be living by the time we take this trip.  And then there is the pesky part about WHEN WE take this trip.

But seeing it on a map, highlighted in that bright yellow/green color…even saying the names of the cities out loud or on the screen in this blog post makes it seem more real than ever before.

I am on the lookout for other travel bloggers who have some similar trips.  Have any advice? Know anyone that has done this? Any experiences you can share? Love to have your input.

Let the planning commence fun begin!

About dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

