A (very) little bit of exercise.

Today, I worked out for the first time in…a long time.

I did an exercise video.  I know.  That is so 1985, but it is way less humiliating than being the first only one to pass out at a class at the gym.

First, I stopped at the Jacksonville Public library (one of my favorite places in the world) and picked up two videos.  (This was after spending way too much time research videos on-line.  I was stalling.)

I picked up a Jillian Michael’s 30 day Shred video and a Cindy Crawford video.

I started with Jillian. Big mistake.  Even when she is nice, she seems mean.  I did the stretching section of this video and then turned it off as soon as it got harder.  I did not like getting “barked” at.

I did not give up though.  I popped open the Cindy Crawford “A New Dimension” video and gave that a try.  I am glad I did.

This video has three separate work outs.  It is meant to help new moms ease back into shape and it was perfect for the non-athlete to get started.  The first workout is only 10 minutes or so.  The cardio only lasts 6 minutes and it is not going to get anyone’s heart rate up for very long, but that is OK.  It was totally awesome to know that I had actually accomplished something, even if it was only the “dinky” workout.

After that, the second workout goes for about 20 minutes.  It does get a little more aerobic, but it is very manageable.

I did not do the last workout which is closer to 40 minutes, but since I enjoyed tolerated the first two, I might actually do the last workout tomorrow.  For my friends who are exercise junkies or runners or athletes, this is not going to be a great video, but for me, it was perfect.

Yay for me!

As always, thank you for reading.

~Jennifer

Author: dabosslady

Da boss, wife, mom, lobbyist, wanna-be cook, crafter, wood-worker, photographer, gardener, avid reader, occasional insomniac.

2 thoughts on “A (very) little bit of exercise.”

  1. So proud of you.. That is how i lost my 45 lbs and have kept it off, all via home videos with a some running and stationary bike.. I am not a gym girl.. try Chris freytag 10 pound slim down series.. she is awesome as well and does not yell at you like Jullian, so it keeps you motivated in the beginning.. if you have ondemand then they have tons of free videos and so does netflix through streaming!

Leave a comment